25% off everything!*
Code: SUMMER25
Ends June 16, 2024.
*Offer valid through June 16, 2024 (11:59 p.m. local time) with code: SUMMER25. Valid for all full-priced printed publications purchased through your own account. A 25% discount is applied toward your product total, excluding any author mark-up, with no minimum or maximum order amount. This offer is good for two uses, and cannot be used for digital publications, combined with volume discounts, custom orders, other promotional codes, or gift cards, or used for adjustments on previous orders.

Save 25%* through June 16, 2024. Code: SUMMER25 Details.


Read Sample
  • Details
  • Description

Spiral members: Charles Alston, Emma Amos, Romare Bearden, Calvin Douglass, Perry Ferguson, Reginald Gammon, Felrath Hines, Alvin Hollingsworth, Norman Lewis, Earl Miller, William Majors, Richard Mayhew, Merton D. Simpson, Hale Woodruff and James Yeargans evolved into a think-tank discussing their relationship to the civil rights movement and the shifting landscape of American art, culture and politics. Richard Mayhew and Emma Amos are the only living members. The collective met for the purpose of exchanging meaningful dialogues on art, the Black aesthetic and worldviews. Although the collective existed for only a short time, each member of the group, working on their own and together, produced powerful artworks that testified to the common themes arising from the struggle for human rights and to the divergent ways different artists seek to address those themes.

Other Publications by A.Michelle Blakeley

1 - 3 of 4 other publications

This site uses cookies. Continuing to use this site without changing your cookie settings means that you consent to those cookies.

Learn more How to turn off cookies